How to save money on your school books

All registered for Spring quarter, I noticed that the book for BUS 270 (The entrepreneurship class at Shoreline Community College) was not yet available in the book store. Wanting to get a head start, I checked the ISBN on Amazon. It didn’t exist. The school’s book store said that it was the 14th edition, so I e-mailed my instructor to verify. He said no, that it’s a bundled version that comes with an educational version of Business Plan Pro, a software by Palo Alto.

The Business Plan Pro software is awesome! It has hundreds of templates to choose from as a basis for any business plan you can think of. It has step by step instructions so there’s no chance of getting confused. There’s even more features which you can read on their website.

The bundle of the textbook and the software is $135 plus tax (somewhere around $150 total) at the bookstore, and I found a used version of the textbook on Amazon for $85. I then searched Craig’s List and found a used book for $50. I e-mailed the person, and negotiated a purchase via Paypal since I don’t have time to go south to Auburn. We shared the cost of shipping so I payed $52.50. Score! I then called the Palo Alto customer service line and asked if I could purchase a discounted version of the book. They had me verify that I was a student with an e-mail address from my go.shoreline.edu account, and I downloaded the copy for $49.95, tax & shipping free!

My total was just over $100, so I saved a lot of money. Bought new and separate, I would have payed 3 times as much. Keep in mind that I’m a student so I got a student discount. There may be other discounts available on the Palo Alto website. I received the book yesterday, a very fast delivery!

About Michael Le Clech

I'm an entrepreneur, DJ, mortgage consultant, and author living in one of the best cities in the United States--Seattle! I have a wide array of interests and plan on writing about whatever I see fit. I'm pretty laid back but I have an adventurous spirit and am very ambitious.
This entry was posted in Business, Negotiating, School. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

